Change is Good

krazy1.jpg So, I’ve started a new weblog. One reason I did so is that I’m really tired of Blogger. It’s always been very unreliable. And as soon as I took the bait of switching to Blogger Beta, entirely new headaches emerged to eradicate the small improvements and the minor uptick in reliability of the new version.

I also came to the end of what I started doing at Verb-Ops, which was (I learned about six months into doing it) writing my autobiography. I basically told my story, interspersed with lots of real time stuff. Lots of shenanigans. A silly nom de plume. A great time, basically. But I’m all caught up.

I plan to continue having a great time in a somewhat different format. Certainly not on Blogger. I must say I like WordPress after less than a day of fooling around with it. I like having a blogroll, which, believe it or not, I could never figure out how to do on the template I was using at Verb-Ops. And I really like putting ol’ Johnny La Conkeroo up there in the header. I like the feel of the WordPress “environment.” So, here I wait for Cassowary.

My loyal (or recent) Verb-Ops readers will remember that “Waiting for Cassowary” came to me as a name for a painting I finished last month. I don’t know exactly what to say about what it means, but I believe it. It’s happening. Right now. I can feel it.

I think I’ll be writing more poetry.

So, I hope to pull you all over here (you’re here now, right?) and keep you and multiply you. But I also hope I’m happier here doing something for myself.

Rick

8 Responses to “Change is Good”

  1. Meg Says:

    I love that my mom is going under Meg’s Mom on your blog.

  2. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Oh, MAN! You’ve got to turn me onto WordPress! I, too, am sick of Blogger!

  3. Todd Says:

    I think blogger is a bit quirky. I can cheat because I know how to code html, but w/ out that I’d be sunk for sure.

  4. colleen Says:

    It will take me awhile to get used to your new face. It’s like more than a haircut.

    The one thing I worry about with blogging is how big can a blog get? With just one little change of a letter, the word BLOG becomes BLOB and I feel like Steve Mcqueen being taken over by the evergrowing thing of it. Where does it end?

    Will Verb-ops be like the back storage room?

  5. Carroll Says:

    Cool, Rick — you’re moving! And just when I figured out how much I’d missed over at the old place. Welcome to your new nest 🙂

  6. Wandering Willow Says:

    Hm, I’ve just escaped from Salon to Blogger, and find that I can’t figure out how to do my blogroll either! Yikes and double-yikes. I may come begging to you, to advise me. Not on making a blogroll, but on a better free blog service.

    But enough about me… I like your new place!! Especially that cartoon and the cassowary. And your own bellydancing artistry, in other locales.

  7. Pearl Says:

    You’ve come on over to the Light side of WP. 🙂 Welcome.

    Congrats too on processing your life right up to date.

  8. Jane jill Says:

    I hope I can continue to find you – I don’t understand a Word of what’s been said but I know I have to learn if I want to stay in that great big blog-world. are there any others like me out there – anywhere

Leave a Reply

