It’s a Small World

gradetwo.jpg The first person to comment at my first blog, Verb-Ops (to which the screws shall be put at dawn), was Meg Fowler. This, of course, made Meg the most fascinating person using the Internet. I still believe she is up there, somewhere—in Canada, that is, where her new venture, MegFowler.com, recently won first prize for new blog and third prize for personal blog in the 2006 Canadian Blog Awards. Well deserved.

Meg, 31, is a blogosphere heavyweight with a writing style and stuff to say that will bring you to your knees or get you jumping. Above is the only known photograph of the reclusive, Pynchonesque Fowler, taken of her in second grade.

Now, here’s where the world gets small—check out comment number one, entry number one for this, our current blog. It’s “Meg’s Mom”! Yeah! That Meg’s Mom. She also comes in with comment number two! My mention of homemade Daddy’s Loosiany Firehouse Dippin’ Sauce” at Meg’s blog today brought her by for the recipe.

Meg’s Mom alerts us to the fact that the cassowary is more-or-less a wombat crossed with a pit bull–just add feathers and funny legs. How and why, she asks, did I choose such an animal in naming my blog? Well, the answer is that the bird chose me! I guess the idea is to stay one step ahead of it while waiting.

It was very nice of you to come by, Meg’s Mom. And I’m sending you the recipe via Meg.

And congrats, Meg!

4 Responses to “It’s a Small World”

  1. Kizz Says:

    Yeah, I get what you’re saying about Blogger. Chili has been pressing me to explore other blogging software but I didn’t really know where to start. If the blogroll is easy that’s a huge draw AND I love the category feature. Is that easy, too? I’m inclined to leave you here as the guinea pig, see what difficulties you uncover, before I start making changes. You can (easily) design your own header? I mean, that too is awfully cool.

  2. Kizz Says:

    What’s the deal with photos? Is there a limit? Is it harder to include them? For the header, the WordPress software translates your picture into code, right? You don’t have to do that yourself, right?

    I have many questions that I’m gonna need to get answered before I can just follow you like Chili did. I mean, damn! She just leapt on over. No leaping, only crawling.

  3. Birdie Says:

    Any blog with a bird in the name is a damn great blog.

    And congrats to Meg FOWLer!! (ha ha ha ha!!)

    anyway, I have my own surprises, yes, I do. Tomorrow you will see. (My birthday, natch.)

  4. kenju Says:

    I didn’t understand the title of the painting and I still don’t understand it here – but perhaps it will become clear as time rolls on. Blogger has been kind to me; I am so illiterate computer-wise that I have to bow to the limitations, being afraid to try much else, lest I lose it all.

    Your writing and art (which I hope will be continued here) are always welcome, wherever you present them.

Leave a Reply

