Self Portrait (Examination)

self1.jpg

5 Responses to “Self Portrait (Examination)”

  1. mrschili Says:

    Recognize, before you begin reading this, that I’m a novice at art appreciation / interpretation. I’m winging it here, though I’m not sure that’s such a bad way to approach it. I’m also falling back on my lit. crit. background, so that may be where some of this is going.

    I’m looking at this and my first response is to be a little confused. The colors scream anger and motion and intensity, but the look on the face is, at least to MY seeing, wary and aprehensive. It almost looks to me as though the background is radiating out from the figure, almost aura-like, though the impression I get from the figure isn’t one of overt hostility or rage.

    Now that I think of it, though, I may have to change my assessment. I teach yoga classes and lead my groups through a relaxation at the end of each session. I ask them to picture a little ball of light, tucked just behind their breastbone, and lead them through bringing it up into the space above them and really SEEING it, then re-absorbing it into themselves. Most often, my ball of light is EXACTLY the colors over your left shoulder – a fireball sort of color with reds and oranges and yellows. I am not an angry or aggressive person, though, and I was often confused by those colors – I would have pegged me for a greens of spring kind of gal. Perhaps the typical qualities we assign to those colors aren’t really what they represent to our souls?

    Thanks for this! I needed a little intellectual stimulation. When comments are exhausted, I’d love to know what YOU think of this piece…

  2. Pearl Says:

    And *she’s* a novice? Erm, before I clicked comment my thought?

    pretty colors. 🙂 Seems like a likeness.

    Palette knives should always go with paint. Musta been fun to do.

  3. colleen Says:

    All I know is that I felt it and it gave me a little kick in my chair.

    Who feels it knows it.

  4. Meg Says:

    I think it’s warm and sharp and busy and simple at the same time.

  5. La RĂ©incarnation du père Ubu « Waiting for Cassowary Says:

    […] My most recent painting session, which resulted in a self portrait, was a one-shot deal. I had only meant to tidy up downstairs that night a couple of weeks ago, but in a kind of frustrated rage, I made a big mess instead. It felt great to finish something in a single session. The result is more in line with what I’m trying to achieve than anything I’ve done this year. That was a good sign. Another good sign is the cardboard box that was delivered while I was gone: A quart of titanium and six large tubes of Utrecht cadmium yellow hue. I use that stuff like butter. Ubulike, I went after the box with scissors. […]

Leave a Reply

