Thought for the Day

I’m too busy to write much here today. So we’ll watch a short motivational film instead.

9 Responses to “Thought for the Day”

  1. Birdie Says:

    …put down the Avon, the pig and the broom……

    Ok, I’m motivated. To goof off!!!

  2. kenju Says:

    She’s pretty good. I don’t lurk, ever, in case you didn’t notice.

  3. mrschili Says:

    Seriously? THAT’S what you’ve got for us? YIKES!

    Funny – and completely true – story: I’m in my classroom, having given my kids a prompt to write about for ten minutes (“what’s “Funny”?”) when the guy next door, who’s been teaching a criminal justice class a little too loudly for my liking, HOLLERS at his kids to “WRITE IT DOWN! ACCOMPLICE! A-C-C-O-M…”). My class, which was silently engaged in writing, looks up to see me point at the wall between our classrooms and say “now, THAT is FUNNY!”

    What’s REALLY funny, though, is that the guy did JUST what you’re doing to us, Rick. He put on a video, told the kids that they could “LEAVE AFTER THE FILM IS OVER, NOT BEFORE!!” and then, I gather, left! How do I know this? One of my kids is friends with a kid taking the CJ class, and the CJ kid texted my kid to say that they were stuck in this room watching this lame video and that the prof. split and would he like to come and watch the film with them? I asked my boy to text back and decline the offer – and to ask that they turn down the volume.

    There’s funny everywhere….

  4. Carroll Says:

    Birdie’s comment — snort!

    And the video — surprised me, in a remarkably good way. Of course, with a four hour drive to the mountains ahead of me, I’m not gonna be thanking you for that ear-worm, Rick! Have a great weekend 🙂

  5. Pearl Says:

    Well, I thought it was fabulous. She has a wonderfully expressive face and voice. A sweet lift.

  6. Rick Says:

    I found this woman looking for a YouTube of video of Hoochie Koochie Man by Muddy Waters. I wanted to post it on my birthday. Muddy’s estate pulled all his videos, but I found her doing it. I used the one of her instead. She’s was good then (November) but she’s gotten a lot better. She goes by the name Ysabellabrave, but I’ve seen enough of her work to know that her name is Mary Anne. She just works out in her apartment with a karaoke machine. She also does a lot of goth stuff, which I’ m less interested in, but it’s quite good. I’m a fan.

  7. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    Well, this was a surprise of sorts…She was okay, but nothing to write home about…I am always amazed when you get see someone who has a rather nice voice but no real understanding of what it is they are singing about…more common than not! And I guess it is what seperates the real “talents” from the Karaoke singers…!

  8. Pearl Says:

    I’ve bookmarked her singing.

    Muddy Waters? 🙂 I grew up hearing him.

  9. MaryAnne Says:

    Wow. Interesting comments on my singing.
    +MaryAnne

Leave a Reply

