Aspiration

taunton2.jpg

I spell forgotten dreams to synchronize
The lake-like mechanism of my heart–
I coax the apple spider, empathize
With heavy limbs and dreams that fall apart.

Arrange the objects, set a palette keyed
To honor God, essential motion, light
And entropy, forgotten dreams that bleed
Into the second apple on the right.

I lift my voice beside the lake to pray
And quote the balanced cycle of the sun,
With leaden limbs in morning wind I sway
Impulsive, mimicking the dream undone.

For my entire stake in life, it seems,
Is somehow to communicate my dreams.

7 Responses to “Aspiration”

  1. mrschili Says:

    Rick! This is a gorgeous poem. I’m speechless. And envious. Truly, truly beautiful.

  2. Meg Says:

    Very, very good.

  3. colleen Says:

    Great compliments. Did you do one for the other? Have you had a show with poetry and painting?

  4. Pearl Says:

    Lovely water. Love the roilingness of the thick paint.

  5. Rick Says:

    Thanks, folks. Posting poetry always makes me feel a bit quivery—which is a good and bad feeling. I need the input—so, thanks. I actually joined a poetry community online. I will still put some in Cassowary.

    Colleen–I painted the painting, which is very small, in the summer of ‘05 and decided to run it with the poem after I wrote it. I actually have an aversion to linking writen descriptions to exhibited paintings, mine or anyone’s. The only thing that would work would be poetry—as long as the painting and the poem are dealt with in their own terms and perhaps considered in comparison (or, as you say, as complements) to each other. Have you read Tom Wolfe’s “The Painted Word”? A long essay more than a short book. But it is about this.

  6. colleen Says:

    I agree. I don’t think they should be written for each other but maybe juxtaposed to heighten the effect of each. In the same way one painting might be placed next to one that goes well with it…. or take a turn to change the mood, like a good set list. I guess I like multi-media, more venues for insight into an artist, but maybe the whole idea is a bad one. A good painting probably doesn’t need anything else to clutter it and sometimes less is best.
    Did I see this one on Verb-ops. It looks familiar.

    Haven’t read TW’s “The Painted Word.” Maybe I’ll look it up.

  7. Rick Says:

    You are a true student of Verb-Ops, Colleen–and I thank you. Actually, I painted a larger copy and posted that on Verb-Ops.

    And, yeah, I agree about how one puts poetry up agains a painting. Thanks for checking back on this.

Leave a Reply

