Rewriting the Cold War

nixon1.jpg

We saw it at the neighbor’s house next door
when black and white TV had just come out.
As I recall, it ran on channel 4—
the famous Nixon/Khrushchev Kitchen Bout.

Now Khrushchev, he knew how to entertain.
And Nixon? He was kinda funny, too
(Remember when the Rooskie went insane
And smacked the conference table with his shoe?)

Surrounded by appliances and lights,
The guy in the fedora was a bear.
But Nixon took it to the satellites
And left Nikita sucking Frigidaire.

Now, that was when consumers understood.
Yeah, that was when the Weltanschauung was good.

6 Responses to “Rewriting the Cold War”

  1. Todd Says:

    that was hilarious

  2. Kizz Says:

    The story goes that when the Ruskie beat his desk with the shoe my friend’s Russian Immigrant grandmother took off her sturdy brogue and hurled it through the television screen.

  3. Todd Says:

    Rick, I just remembered Dwayne Smith at Mathey back in ’82, weeping uncontrollably in his room one day. I asked him what was wrong, he wailed “Breznev is dead!” Weltanschauung not so good that day.

  4. Rick Says:

    I remember that!!! He said it made him think of The King. In fact, I think he first said it was the “king of Poland” that died!!!!!!!

    All: I appologize for my butchered spelling of Khrushchev this morning. I gotta be me.

  5. Todd Says:

    What a place to be back then.

  6. kenju Says:

    My mom called him audacious!

Leave a Reply

