Kind of Blue

b000002adt09lzzzzzzz.jpg It’s Evans’ lyrical appeal that shines
through Kind of Blue, connects the dots from Miles
to Rachmaninov, the classical, as styles
are mixed where Cannonball and Trane post signs
to 1959, to Mingus. Bill,
not Gil, when he met Miles, dropped inside
a hole in history, a chance to ride
the far end, settle in to light and fill
and fiddle with the picture. This he did
behind the scene, where Miles Davis bid
the fire come temptation. When I hear
him now, he’s sprawled across the floor that squeaked,
a helix, coding sound where Miles peaked
and cracked the intellectual veneer.

5 Responses to “Kind of Blue”

  1. Birdie Says:

    Hey you

    I just want you to know that I read them here, I read them at cafe’ cafe’, and enjoy the hell outta each and every line, R. I’ve been overloaded at the moment, so I haven’t been commenting, but I never miss a day of your stuff.

  2. kenju Says:

    I have a favorite old album: Miles + Monk. You just reminded me I haven’t listened to it in a long time. I think I’ll remedy that today.

  3. Todd Says:

    My daughter Alice swiped my copy of Kind of Blue. Then she started buying Mingus, and then got into Chet Baker.

  4. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    My Favorite Miles Davis album is “PORGY & BESS”….pure bliss!

  5. Birdie Says:

    It must be said that some of your lines are sticky, can’t get rid of them, they rattle in my head, and the “Bill,
    not Gil, when he met Miles took a chance
    at that one point in history when Dance”

    is one of those sticky bits.

Leave a Reply

