Portrait of Sam W.

i-paint-sam.jpg

Sam and his family used to live across the street from us in Maplewood in the 1980s and 1990s. He and my oldest daughter were constant friends, and their mothers were a team. Sam’s stepmom asked me to paint him as a present to his dad. Sam is graduating high school this month. I first met him days after he was born.

samcassowary.jpg

We had a nice day together (first time we’ve spent together in about ten years). Emily, my daughter, took the photo of me painting him.

4 Responses to “Portrait of Sam W.”

  1. mrschili Says:

    How FANTASTIC! I loved the photo of you working; the light strikes you just right and the blur of your hand is evocative of energy and creativity.

    What a wonderful gift to Sam’s dad! Amazing how quickly we go from the day after birth to the day before graduation, isn’t it?

    I’d LOVE to sit for you someday…

  2. Kizz Says:

    Both images are really beautiful. Congratulations on having such a wonderful day.

  3. colleen Says:

    What a triple delight, like looking at the photo of the photo of the painting being painted. I don’t even know him and I’d like to hang it in my house. Just the shirt alone makes me twitch a little.

  4. keda Says:

    beautiful! so lovely to see the two omages together.

    and what a fabulous gift. 🙂

Leave a Reply

