Letting Go (for EM)

“We let our eyes, our ears, our sense of touch illuminate ten seconds here, a minute there. And then it’s gone”–Birdie Jaworski

I cradled you today in space and time
where sunlight rides the surface of a lake,
beneath titanic nimbuses that take
the bluff, the mirrored monuments that climb
across the summer vineyards to the water.
There, I held your body in a light
that moved in waves across your skin like white
reflective fire. I cradled you, my daughter.

And tonight, before I finally fell asleep,
I dreamed I had a brilliant conversation
with a laughing echo on the waves
that knows your smile and sings a recitation
to the wind, a cryptic Gita deep
yet fleeting in the way that light behaves.

9 Responses to “Letting Go (for EM)”

  1. Tiel Aisha Ansari Says:

    Like the way the light threads through this, making the “echo” into just another reflection.

    Can I link this for the Ringing of the Bards? (It comes around my way once a month or so.) Details at my blog

  2. Rick Says:

    Hi Tiel.

    Thanks!
    Sure thing on the link.

    RM

  3. Kizz Says:

    Its a lovely companion piece for the paintings that follow. One of my favorites.

  4. Birdie Says:

    We let our eyes, our ears, our sense of touch illuminate ten seconds here, a minute there. And then it’s gone.

  5. Soulless Says:

    This is visual bliss.

    Beautiful, in the way that clenches the soul. *sniff*

  6. Tiel Aisha Ansari Says:

    The carnival is up at http://knockingfrominside.blogspot.com/2007/08/ringing-of-bards-life-death-and-god.html

    Thanks for your contribution!

  7. Lisa Says:

    This is so beautiful. I especially liked the lines, “I dreamed I had a brilliant conversation with a laughing echo on the waves that knows your smile and sings a recitation
    to the wind” – amazing.

  8. Yafiah Says:

    “I held your body in a light
    that moved in waves across your skin like white
    reflective fire”

    Beautiful image that appears to contain love and pain and an ethereal transcendence.

  9. Irving Says:

    Heart stirring and tender and really lovely 🙂 Having a daughter, I know, but could not express it so beautifully. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

