Early Fossil Monkey

ida
This is the first link to all humans,” Jorn Hurum, paleontologist, Natural History Museum, Oslo

Her tail is longer than her trunk.
So what has she to do with me?
Please step aside while I debunk

the notion that this brittle chunk
of dirt and bones in Germany,
this trail of lug nuts in a trunk,

connects me to the lost homunc-
ulus in Darwin’s recipe.
Just step aside while I debunk

this “missing link,” this tidy hunk
of Eocenic property,
entailing lumbars up the trunk.

This end-to-end neanderthunk.
Atypical. (A travesty!).
Now, step aside while I debunk

this lemur-like primatoskunk
(can we just leave the lemurs be?)
whose tail is longer than her trunk.
Do step aside as I debunk…

One Response to “Early Fossil Monkey”

  1. Mrs. Chili Says:

    I was tending to my mother yesterday, and we watched the History Channel piece on this. I’m not impressed by the supposed connections (does it really matter HOW we got here? I tend to put more importance on what we’re going to do now that we’re here). Very old things are, intrinsically, cool, though; at least, to me.

Leave a Reply

